menu facebook instagram twitter guest

ÂGE D’OR FESTIVAL » EN


EN

From the 6th until the 11th of October, L’Âge d’Or will return to the CINEMATEK for the third edition of its new formula, inaugurated in 2014, with a rich and varied program focused on the search and audacity of an experimental cinematic voice engaged with the real but also with the intimate, the imaginary, the psychedelic and the mythological.

Within the program are two competitive sections that unite films made during the last three years from all over the world (Iran, Indonesia, Korea, Turkey, Austria, the United States and Belgium).

L’ÂGE D’OR, a competition that unites 22 films never before shown in Brussels. One of the films will receive the Âge d’Or Prize from the international jury.

IMPATIENCE (after the title of Charles Dekeukeleire’s second film, 1928) is a new competition for first and second films. This competition between 8 films by young filmmakers is endowed with a prize that will be awarded by the international jury.

This year a YOUNG JURY PRIZE will also be awarded to a film within the Âge d’Or competition, by a jury comprised of students of various Brussels-based art schools.

Moreover, the festival will receive numerous guests such as Peter Gidal, one of the major figures in British and global independent cinema; and the Lebanese filmmakers Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, who will, after their solo-exposition at Jeu de Paume in Paris, present a selection of their films as well as a video installation in CINEMATEK’s foyer. Other highlights include: A large program dedicated to the experimental cinema and avant-garde of the US west coast (Bruce Baillie, Chick Strand and three thematic screenings that unite some treasures of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences), a panorama of films produced in Asia (Philippines, India, Indonesia, Thailand) which strictly speaking does not have a traditional experimental cinema. The panorama will also unite both recent and older productions that have never or rarely been shown in Europe. Finally, a number of other special screenings (live soundtrack, cinema workshop for children, etc) will take place, all of which we invite you to discover.

menu facebook instagram twitter guest

ÂGE D’OR FESTIVAL » FR


FR

Du 6 au 11 octobre, L’Âge d’Or Festival revient à CINEMATEK pour la troisième édition de sa nouvelle formule, inaugurée en 2014, avec un programme riche et varié qui met en avant la recherche et l’audace d’une écriture cinématographique expérimentale en prise avec le réel mais aussi avec l’intime, l’imaginaire, le psychédélique et le mythologique.

Au programme, deux sections compétitives qui réunissent des films réalisés au cours de ces trois dernières années aux quatre coins du monde (en Iran, en Indonésie, en Corée, en Turquie, en Autriche, aux États-Unis et en Belgique):

L’ÂGE D’OR, une compétition qui réunit 22 films jamais montrés à Bruxelles, dont l’un d’eux se verra remettre le Prix de l’Âge d’Or par le Jury international.

IMPATIENCE (d’après le titre du second film de Charles Dekeukeleire, 1928), nouvelle compétition pour les premiers et deuxièmes films. Cette compétition, qui réunit 8 films de jeunes cinéastes, est dotée d’un prix qui sera remis par le Jury international.

Cette année un YOUNG JURY PRIZE, sera également décerné à un film de la compétition de l’Âge d’Or par un jury composé d’étudiants des écoles d’art bruxelloises.

Par ailleurs, le festival recevra de nombreux invités tels que Peter Gidal, une des figures majeures du cinéma indépendant britannique et mondial ; les cinéastes libanais Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige, qui viendront présenter, après leur exposition individuelle au Jeu de Paume à Paris, une sélection de leurs films ainsi que des installations vidéo dans le foyer de CINEMATEK. Autres temps forts : un large programme consacré au cinéma expérimental et d’avant-garde de la côte Ouest des États-Unis (Bruce Baillie, Chick Strand et trois séances thématiques réunissant quelques trésors de la collection de l’Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences), un panorama de films produits en Asie (Philippines, Inde, Indonésie, Thaïlande) qui n’ont pas à proprement parler de tradition du cinéma expérimental et qui réunit des productions récentes et plus anciennes qui n’ont jamais ou presque été montrées en Europe. Mais aussi de nombreuses autres séances spéciales (live soundtrack, atelier de cinéma pour enfants, etc.) que nous vous invitons à découvrir.